A law firm's time records are not just a payroll input; they are what the client is billed and, if a fee is ever questioned, what the firm will point to. Professional-conduct rules modeled on the ABA's put time first: Minnesota's Rule 1.5, for example, lists "the time and labor required" as the first factor in whether a fee is reasonable, and asks that the basis or rate of the fee be communicated to the client, preferably in writing. A tracker has to make those records clean and billable. It does not have to, and should not, hold client money.
For whom: a solo lawyer or a small firm that bills hourly and wants something lighter than a full practice-management suite. Not for: a firm that takes retainers into a trust account and wants billing, matter management and trust accounting in one place; see the counter-case.
What a law firm needs from the tool
| Need | Clockify | Harvest | Toggl Track |
|---|---|---|---|
| Billing in tenths of an hour | Rounding to the nearest six minutes in reports and exports, on Standard and above; stored entries stay unchanged | Not verified on Harvest's own pages | Rounding in reports is a paid-plan feature |
| Invoices from tracked time | Standard and above | Every plan, including Free | Not stated on its pricing page |
| Past entries locked | "Lock timesheets," Standard and above | Not verified: Harvest's help page on locked entries could not be opened on October 27, 2026 | Not stated |
| Approvals before billing | Standard and above | Enterprise | Premium |
| Audit log of changes | Enterprise | Activity log on Enterprise ("audit trail of every time entry and edit") | Not stated |
The six-minute increment is a billing convention, not a rule in the statute or the conduct rules we read; what the rules require is a reasonable fee and a clear basis for it. Rounding that changes only the display, as Clockify documents, keeps the actual minutes available if a bill is ever questioned.
Our pick
Clockify Standard. It is the only one of the three whose documentation covers all of the billing basics a small firm asks for: six-minute rounding that carries into exports, invoices from tracked time, approvals and locked timesheets, at $5.49 per seat a month billed annually.
- Pick Harvest instead for a solo lawyer who wants to invoice from time immediately: invoicing is on every plan, and the free plan (one seat, two projects) is enough to test it on two matters. Check its rounding options inside the product before relying on them.
- Pick Toggl Track instead if the firm already exports time to a separate billing system and wants the lightest timer for lawyers who hate timers.
Counter-case: trust accounting. Under Rule 1.5 as Minnesota adopted it, fees paid before services are rendered are presumed unearned and must be held in a trust account under Rule 1.15. The plan and help pages we read for these three trackers describe time, rates, rounding and invoicing; they do not establish trust-account ledgers of the kind those rules contemplate, and a retainer feature for invoicing is not the same thing. A firm that takes retainers should keep trust accounting in a legal practice-management or legal billing system built for it, and treat the tracker as a time-capture front end. Check your own state's versions of Rules 1.5 and 1.15.
Set it up for billing, not just tracking
- One client per client, one project per matter, so time cannot drift between matters.
- Turn rounding on in reports, not on entries, so the original minutes survive.
- Lock past periods once invoices go out.
- Write each entry description as it will read on the invoice.
For other professional firms, see time tracking for accounting firms.
Traceable evidence
Sources for this decision
- officialMinnesota Rules of Professional Conduct, Rule 1.5, FeesMinnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Minnesota Rule of Professional Conduct 1.5 (amended effective July 1, 2011), following the ABA model: a lawyer shall not charge an unreasonable fee, the listed reasonableness factors starting with time and labor, communication of the basis or rate of the fee, preferably in writing, and advance fee payments presumed unearned and held in a trust account under Rule 1.15; it is Minnesota's rule only and does not regulate time-tracking software.Open source ↗
- vendorClockify official product siteClockify · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Teams comparing flexible project and employee time tracking across varied work types.. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorHarvest official product siteHarvest · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Agencies and professional services teams evaluating time, project budgets, billing, and invoicing handoffs.. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorToggl Track official product siteToggl Track · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Knowledge-work and service teams evaluating lightweight time capture and project reporting.. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorClockify help, time roundingClockify · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Clockify help article stating that time rounding (round down, up or to nearest, with rounding to the nearest six minutes as an example) is a paid feature on Standard, Pro and Enterprise, changes only how durations display, not the stored data, and carries into exports; it does not describe invoicing rules or legal billing duties.Open source ↗
- vendorClockify pricing page, paid plan tiersClockify · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Clockify's pricing page as read on October 27, 2026: per-seat prices for Basic, Standard, Pro and Enterprise billed annually and monthly, timesheet approval, locked timesheets, invoicing and time off from Standard, GPS from Pro and the audit log on Enterprise; it does not prove the total cost for a given team.Open source ↗
- vendorHarvest pricing page, plan featuresHarvest · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Harvest's pricing page as read on October 27, 2026: Free (one seat, two projects), Teams and Enterprise per-seat prices billed annually and monthly, invoicing on all plans, and timesheet approvals and an Activity log described as an audit trail of every time entry and edit on Enterprise only; it does not describe time rounding or entry locking.Open source ↗
- vendorToggl Track pricing page, plan features and FAQToggl · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Toggl's Track pricing page and FAQ as read on October 27, 2026: Free up to three users, Starter and Premium per-user prices, timesheet approvals on Premium, and the FAQ statement that Toggl does not monitor employees, take screenshots or record keystrokes, browsing history or location; it does not prove what an employer's integrations collect.Open source ↗
- vendorToggl Track help, roundingToggl · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Toggl help article stating that rounding is a paid-plan feature that can be enabled on reports, with intervals from one minute up to four hours, applied per entry or to group subtotals; it does not name the plan, does not state whether exports are rounded and does not describe invoicing.Open source ↗