"Time tracking with screenshots" is searched by two people: the manager who wants proof of work and the employee wondering what the new app will see. Both deserve the same precise answer, and the vendors' own documentation gives it. We read it on October 27, 2026; nothing here comes from installing the tools.
For whom: an employer choosing how much monitoring to switch on, and anyone asked to install one of these trackers. Not for: dedicated employee-monitoring suites, a different category that goes beyond time tracking.
What each tool says it records
| Tracker | Screenshots | Keyboard and mouse | Apps and websites | Screen video | Location |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hubstaff | Up to three every 10 minutes; optional and configurable per user; blur is set by the organization owner; members can delete their own | Activity rate from whether input is detected; Hubstaff says it records no keystrokes | Yes | Hubstaff says it records no video or audio | Mobile apps only, while tracking time; Hubstaff's separate fleet-tracking mode also tracks location |
| Time Doctor | At random times within the chosen interval, every three minutes by default; blur available, irreversible | Counts clicks and keystrokes without logging specific keys | Optional URL and application logging | Included on Premium, an add-on on other plans; video cannot be blurred | Not stated on the pages we read |
| Clockify | Desktop-app screenshots on the paid Pro and Enterprise plans, enabled by an admin for the workspace with members notified, random within 5-minute intervals while the timer runs | Desktop app: idle detection. Separate Activity Monitoring agent (from Pro): keyboard and mouse activity, visible to administrators only | Desktop auto tracker: private to the user. Activity Monitoring agent: visited apps and websites, visible to administrators only | Not described on the pages we read | GPS on the Pro plan (see GPS time tracking) |
| Everhour | Team plans only; admins choose which members; blur available | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Toggl Track | No: "Toggl doesn't monitor employees, take screenshots, or record keystrokes, browsing history, or location" | Not recorded | Not recorded | Not described | No |
| Harvest | No: "does not include screenshot monitoring" | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Three details matter more than the yes/no column:
- Activity is counted, not typed text, where the vendor says so. Hubstaff says it records no keystrokes; Time Doctor counts keystrokes "without logging specific keys". Clockify's Activity Monitoring describes keyboard and mouse activity used to classify time as active or idle; its page does not say whether typed content is recorded, so ask before you deploy it. Everhour's help pages we read do not address keystrokes.
- Who controls blur and deletion. On Hubstaff, blur is an organization-owner setting, and members can delete their own screenshots. On Clockify, regular users can delete their own screenshots unless the entry is locked or approved. On Time Doctor, deletion depends on role permissions (its help also says a user can delete when allowed to edit time). That control is what keeps a screenshot of a personal banking tab out of a manager's report.
- Video is a different decision. Time Doctor offers continuous screen recording, included on Premium and sold as an add-on otherwise, and its documentation says video cannot be blurred. Hubstaff says it records no video; the other pages we read do not describe video.
The law does not depend on the tool
New York (Civil Rights Law § 52-c) and Delaware (19 Del. C. § 705) require an employer that monitors employees' telephone, email or internet use to give notice that the employee acknowledges, or in Delaware a daily electronic notice. Connecticut (General Statutes § 31-48d) requires prior written notice, which a conspicuous posting satisfies, for electronic monitoring on the employer's premises; from October 1, 2026 (Public Act 26-73) the notice must also name the specific locations where monitoring may occur, and new hires get a written statement before they start. Logging the websites an employee visits can fall within the New York and Delaware notice rules for internet-use monitoring; whether recording offline application use or screenshots does depends on what is captured and on each statute's wording. Our editorial baseline is simpler: give written notice for screenshots and any app or URL logging, whatever the strict reading. A tracker's settings help you show what you collect; they do not give the notice for you.
Our pick
For most employers, no screenshots: Toggl Track. If your question is "how long did the work take, and for which client?", screenshots add risk without answering it. Toggl Track states it does not take screenshots or record keystrokes, browsing history or location, which makes the notice and the conversation with staff simple.
- For remote contractors billed by the hour, Hubstaff. When a client pays for hours you cannot otherwise see, screenshots are evidence. Hubstaff limits frequency to three per ten minutes, lets the owner blur them and lets each worker delete their own, which is the balance we would want.
- Time Doctor only when you need video of the screen, for example in a support or data-entry team where the work happens entirely on screen; accept that video cannot be blurred and that it is a Premium feature or a paid add-on.
- Clockify and Everhour keep screenshots as a paid, admin-enabled option: useful if you might need it later without switching tools. Clockify's separate Activity Monitoring agent goes further (apps, websites, activity, administrator-only view); treat it as employee monitoring, not time tracking.
Before switching any of this on, write down what you collect, who sees it and how long you keep it, and give the state notice where it applies. For tools without screenshots, see time tracking without screenshots.
Traceable evidence
Sources for this decision
- vendorHubstaff official product siteHubstaff · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Distributed and field teams evaluating time tracking alongside optional activity and location signals.. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorTime Doctor official product siteTime Doctor · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Distributed organizations comparing work-time evidence and productivity signals for remote operations.. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorClockify official product siteClockify · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Teams comparing flexible project and employee time tracking across varied work types.. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorEverhour official product siteEverhour · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Project teams comparing embedded time tracking inside task and delivery workflows.. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorToggl Track official product siteToggl Track · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Knowledge-work and service teams evaluating lightweight time capture and project reporting.. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorHarvest official product siteHarvest · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Agencies and professional services teams evaluating time, project budgets, billing, and invoicing handoffs.. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorHubstaff FAQHubstaff · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Hubstaff's FAQ stating that it can capture up to three screenshots every ten minutes, that screenshots are optional, configurable per user, can be blurred or turned off and that team members can delete their own, that activity rates come from whether keyboard or mouse input is detected, that it does not record keystrokes, video or audio, that it tracks apps and websites used, and that location is tracked only in the mobile apps while tracking time or using fleet tracking; it does not state which plan includes each feature or any price.Open source ↗
- vendorWhat does Time Doctor monitor on my computer?Time Doctor · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Time Doctor help article (dated December 1, 2025) stating that during tracked time it can count mouse clicks and general keystrokes without logging specific keys, optionally log website URLs and application names, and capture screenshots every three minutes by default, and that it monitors nothing outside tracked time; it does not state plan prices.Open source ↗
- vendorHow to use the Screencasts (screenshots) featureTime Doctor · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Time Doctor help article (dated October 15, 2026) stating that screenshots are taken at random times within the selected interval, that blurring can be enabled company-wide or per user and is irreversible, that video recordings cannot be blurred, that continuous video screencasts are included on the Premium plan and available as an add-on on other plans, and that deletion is limited to roles with the delete capability (its FAQ also says a user can delete when allowed to edit time); it does not state prices.Open source ↗
- vendorClockify help, screenshotsClockify · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Clockify help article stating that screenshots are a paid feature on the Pro and Enterprise plans, enabled by an admin for the workspace with members notified, captured randomly in five-minute intervals while the desktop timer runs, and deletable by regular users for their own unlocked, unapproved entries, that idle detection checks for no mouse movement or keystrokes and is shown to the user, and that the optional desktop auto tracker records apps and websites privately (not available to workspace admins); it does not describe keystroke logging and does not prove legal compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorEverhour help, screenshots appEverhour · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Everhour help article stating that its screenshots app is available only on Team plans, that admins choose which members it applies to, that blur hides sensitive data and that switching the app off hides rather than deletes the data; it does not state capture frequency or keystroke handling.Open source ↗
- vendorToggl Track pricing page, plan features and FAQToggl · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Toggl's Track pricing page and FAQ as read on October 27, 2026: Free up to three users, Starter and Premium per-user prices, timesheet approvals on Premium, and the FAQ statement that Toggl does not monitor employees, take screenshots or record keystrokes, browsing history or location; it does not prove what an employer's integrations collect.Open source ↗
- vendorHarvest page on time tracking with screenshotsHarvest · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Harvest's own page on screenshot time tracking stating that Harvest focuses on integrations and manual tracking rather than screenshots and does not include screenshot monitoring; it does not describe Harvest's handling of location or keystrokes.Open source ↗
- vendorScreenshot Blur in HubstaffHubstaff · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Hubstaff help article stating that organization owners can add a blur to screenshots for the whole organization or individual users on paid plans, that the desktop app blurs images before upload, that blurring cannot be reversed and that activity levels stay visible; it does not describe deletion rights or prices.Open source ↗
- vendorClockify Activity MonitoringClockify · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Clockify's Activity Monitoring page stating that its agent, deployed by an Admin or Manager, tracks visited websites and apps, keyboard and mouse activity and optional screenshots with chosen frequency and blur, that only Administrators can view the telemetry, and that the feature is available from the Pro plan; it does not say whether typed content is recorded and does not prove legal compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorClockify pricing page, paid plan tiersClockify · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Clockify's pricing page as read on October 27, 2026: per-seat prices for Basic, Standard, Pro and Enterprise billed annually and monthly, timesheet approval, locked timesheets, invoicing and time off from Standard, GPS from Pro and the audit log on Enterprise; it does not prove the total cost for a given team.Open source ↗
- officialNew York Civil Rights Law § 52-c, employer electronic monitoringNew York State Senate · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: New York's rule that an employer monitoring employees' telephone, email or internet access or usage must give prior written notice upon hiring, obtain a written or electronic acknowledgment and post a notice, with civil penalties of up to five hundred, one thousand and three thousand dollars; it does not expressly address GPS location data.Open source ↗
- regulatorElectronic Monitoring NoticeConnecticut Department of Labor · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Connecticut Department of Labor notice poster reproducing General Statutes § 31-48d: electronic monitoring defined as collecting information on the employer's premises by means other than direct observation, prior written notice satisfied by a conspicuous posting, the misconduct exception and maximum civil penalties of five hundred, one thousand and three thousand dollars; it does not determine every monitoring practice or multistate obligation.Open source ↗
- officialConnecticut Public Act 26-73, An Act Concerning the Electronic Surveillance of EmployeesConnecticut General Assembly · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Connecticut Public Act 26-73 (approved June 4, 2026), amending General Statutes 31-48d effective October 1, 2026: prior written notice must state the types of electronic monitoring and the specific locations on the premises where it may occur, a conspicuous posting including at those locations counts as notice, employees hired on or after October 1, 2026 receive a plain-language written statement of prohibited activities that may be monitored without notice before they start, location disclosure does not apply at airports or for security and safety monitoring, and civil penalties stay at five hundred, one thousand and three thousand dollars; it does not expressly address GPS location data.Open source ↗
- officialDelaware Code title 19 § 705, notice of monitoring of telephone, e-mail and internet usageState of Delaware · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Delaware's requirement that an employer monitoring employee telephone, email or internet usage give a daily electronic notice or a one-time notice the employee acknowledges, with a civil penalty of one hundred dollars per violation; it does not expressly address GPS location data.Open source ↗