Architecture and engineering firms rarely sell an open-ended hour. A project is fee'd by phase, schematic design, design development, construction documents, construction administration, either as a fixed fee per phase or as hourly work against a phase budget. The question time tracking has to answer is therefore not "how many hours did we work" but "how much of the design-development budget is already spent, and by whom." Plan contents and prices below come from each vendor's pricing page, read on October 28, 2026 (Everhour's price on October 27). Nothing here comes from a hands-on trial.
For whom: a principal or office manager at a firm of 5 to 30 people that bills by phase and invoices from its own records. Not for: a firm that already runs a practice-management ERP for accounting, utilization and fee earned; time belongs in that system.
The first plan that tracks a phase against its budget
| Harvest | Clockify | Toggl Track | Everhour | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Estimates or budgets per project | Project estimates on all plans | Budgets and estimates from Pro | Project estimates from Starter; fixed-fee projects and project dashboards on Premium | Budgeting in the Team plan |
| Invoicing from tracked time | Every plan | From Standard | Not stated on its pricing page | Team plan |
| Plan priced below, per seat a month billed annually | Teams, $9 (estimates and invoicing) | Pro, $7.99 (budgets and invoicing) | Premium, $16 (fixed fees; invoicing needs another verified workflow) | Team, $8.50 (budgeting and invoicing), 5 seats minimum |
| Twelve people, seats only | $108 a month, before Harvest's usage charges | $95.88 a month | $192 a month | $102 a month |
Harvest's pricing page adds that on Teams and Enterprise, additional invoices, projects, clients and tasks are billed by usage, so its line is a seat estimate, not the whole bill. Treat each phase as its own project or task with its own estimate. All four tools can then show spent against planned hours for that phase; the difference is whether the same tool also bills it.
Our pick
Harvest Teams. It keeps the full loop, phase estimate, timesheet, invoice, in one place on its base paid plan, and integrates with Xero and QuickBooks Online from Teams; its Xero page states that invoices are copied to Xero when you send them. Clockify Pro costs about $12 a month less for twelve people on seat prices and does both too, but its Xero sync is a separate $4.99 monthly add-on, and a firm that invoices from Harvest gets estimates even on the base plan.
- Pick Clockify Pro if price comes first and your bookkeeper invoices outside the tracker anyway.
- Pick Toggl Track Premium if most of your work is fixed fee per phase: Premium is the plan where Toggl handles fixed-fee projects and project dashboards. It is the most expensive option here, so it only pays if fixed fees dominate.
- Pick Everhour if the firm already plans work in a task tool and wants time recorded there; the Team plan requires at least five seats.
When to skip all four
A firm that needs utilization targets, earned fee by phase, consultant markups and accounting in one ledger is shopping for a practice-management ERP, not a time tracker. Those systems cost more and take longer to set up; buy one when the monthly reconciliation between tracker, spreadsheet and accounts takes longer than the work it reports. Until then, see time tracking for professional services for the common setup, and payroll time versus project time if your hourly staff are paid from the same records.
Traceable evidence
Sources for this decision
- vendorHarvest official product siteHarvest · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Agencies and professional services teams evaluating time, project budgets, billing, and invoicing handoffs.. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorClockify official product siteClockify · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Teams comparing flexible project and employee time tracking across varied work types.. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorToggl Track official product siteToggl Track · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Knowledge-work and service teams evaluating lightweight time capture and project reporting.. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorEverhour official product siteEverhour · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Project teams comparing embedded time tracking inside task and delivery workflows.. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorHarvest pricing page, plan featuresHarvest · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Harvest's pricing page as read on October 27, 2026: Free (one seat, two projects), Teams and Enterprise per-seat prices billed annually and monthly, invoicing on all plans, and timesheet approvals and an Activity log described as an audit trail of every time entry and edit on Enterprise only; it does not describe time rounding or entry locking.Open source ↗
- vendorHarvest pricing page, integrations and estimatesHarvest · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Harvest's pricing page as read on October 28, 2026: Teams at $9 per seat a month billed annually and $11 monthly, Enterprise at $14 and $17.50, invoicing and project estimates on all plans, and integrations with Stripe, QuickBooks Online, Xero and others on Teams and Enterprise, not Free; on Teams and Enterprise, additional invoices, projects, clients and tasks billed based on usage, with no amounts stated; it does not describe what each integration syncs and lists no nonprofit discount.Open source ↗
- vendorHarvest Xero integration pageHarvest · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Harvest's Xero integration page as read on October 28, 2026 stating that Harvest invoices are copied into Xero when sent to clients and that, optionally, a payment on a Harvest invoice can be copied to Xero; it does not describe contacts, expenses or payments flowing from Xero to Harvest, and names no plan.Open source ↗
- vendorClockify pricing page, paid plan tiersClockify · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Clockify's pricing page as read on October 27, 2026: per-seat prices for Basic, Standard, Pro and Enterprise billed annually and monthly, timesheet approval, locked timesheets, invoicing and time off from Standard, GPS from Pro and the audit log on Enterprise; it does not prove the total cost for a given team.Open source ↗
- vendorClockify pricing page, plan comparison tableClockify · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Clockify's pricing comparison table as read on October 28, 2026: the Free plan for up to 5 users (its FAQ says up to 4 invited people) with unlimited projects; kiosk from Basic and not on Free; limited kiosk seats per month at $0.79 on Basic, $1.19 on Standard, $1.59 on Pro and $2.39 on Enterprise billed annually ($0.99, $1.49, $1.99, $2.99 monthly); kiosk photo capture on Pro and Enterprise; billable rates from Basic; invoicing, approval and the QuickBooks integration from Standard; budgets and estimates and GPS from Pro. It does not mention a nonprofit discount and does not describe how the kiosk identifies a worker.Open source ↗
- vendorClockify help, Clockify and XeroClockify · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Clockify help article as read on October 28, 2026: the Xero integration is for owners and admins on Standard plans and higher and needs a separate add-on subscription at $4.99 a month; invoices are sent from Clockify one by one or in bulk and the Xero invoice must be in draft status; payments and paid or partially paid status flow back from Xero; a Xero contact is created when none matches the client name; tax is rounded per line in Xero and on the total in Clockify. It does not cover payroll or timesheets.Open source ↗
- vendorToggl Track pricing page, project features by planToggl · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Toggl Track's pricing page as read on October 28, 2026: Starter at $9 and Premium at $16 per user a month in the annual view ($12 and $24 in the monthly view), billable rates and project estimates from Starter, fixed-fee projects, project dashboards, project member rates and timesheet approvals on Premium, and a free plan for up to 3 users; it does not state invoicing, a kiosk, a Xero integration or a nonprofit discount.Open source ↗
- vendorEverhour pricing pageEverhour · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Everhour's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its Team plan ($8.50 per seat/month, billed yearly) and the page details recorded with it (Minimum 5 seats), and a free plan (Yes, up to 5 seats). It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗
- vendorEverhour pricing page, plan limitsEverhour · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Everhour's pricing page as read on October 28, 2026: a free plan for up to 5 seats with limited features and, per its FAQ, no integrations; the Team plan at $8.50 per seat a month billed yearly with a 5-seat minimum and billing, budgeting and invoicing; it does not state a monthly-billed price or timesheet approvals.Open source ↗