A kiosk time clock is a tablet mounted where hourly staff start their shift: each person taps in on the same device instead of on their own phone. The buying questions are narrow. How does the kiosk know who is punching, what does it keep as proof, does it still work when the Wi-Fi drops, and what does a seat cost for someone who only ever clocks in. Prices and features below come from each vendor's pricing or kiosk page, read on October 28, 2026 (QuickBooks Time's price on October 27). Nothing here comes from a hands-on trial.
For whom: a shop, clinic, restaurant, warehouse or job-site trailer with 5 to 50 hourly workers and one shared device. Not for: crews that clock in from scattered job sites on their own phones; see time tracking for field crews.
Kiosk features and cost for ten hourly workers
| Buddy Punch | Clockify | QuickBooks Time | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plan with the kiosk | Pro and Advanced | Basic and up (not Free) | Included in a QuickBooks Time subscription |
| Who is punching | PIN or kiosk punch | 4- or 6-digit PIN from Basic; QR code from Standard | 4-digit PIN |
| Photo at each punch | Yes, "webcam on punches", Pro and up | Pro and up, after each user consents | Yes, can be required at clock-in |
| Offline punching at the kiosk | No: PIN and QR kiosk punches need a connection; offline mode (Pro and up) covers only employees signed in to the mobile app | Not described; the kiosk runs from a browser link | Kiosk works with an internet connection |
| Price basis | $6.99 per user a month billed annually + $19 base fee | Limited kiosk-only seat $0.79 on Basic, $1.59 on Pro, a month billed annually; full seat $3.99 Basic, $7.99 Pro | Time Premium, $20 a month base + $10 per user; QuickBooks Online required and not included |
| Ten workers, one admin seat | 10 x $6.99 + $19 = $88.90 a month | With photo (Pro): $7.99 + 10 x $1.59 = $23.89 a month; PIN only (Basic): $3.99 + 10 x $0.79 = $11.89 | $20 + 10 x $10 = $120 a month, plus QuickBooks Online |
Our pick
Clockify Pro. A shared tablet invites one worker to punch in for another; a photo taken at clock-in lets a manager see who stood in front of the tablet. Clockify adds photo capture to its kiosk from the Pro plan, with each user's consent before the first capture, and its limited seats for people who only ever punch at the kiosk keep the bill low: about $23.89 a month for ten workers and one admin, against $88.90 on Buddy Punch Pro.
- Pick Clockify Basic if a PIN is enough because a manager on site already knows who arrives: the same kiosk with PIN sign-in costs about $11.89 a month for that team.
- Pick Buddy Punch Pro if part of the team punches at the kiosk and part from their own phones on the road: Pro takes a webcam photo at each punch, adds basic geofencing, and its offline mode keeps mobile-app punches made by signed-in employees until the phone reconnects. The shared kiosk itself still needs a connection, and every worker is a full user, so it costs more.
- Pick QuickBooks Time if payroll already runs in QuickBooks: the kiosk takes a 4-digit PIN and can require a photo, and approved time lands in the payroll you already use. Its price assumes you already pay for QuickBooks Online, and the kiosk needs a reliable connection.
Do not add face recognition casually
A photo stored for a manager to look at is not the same as a face template a system matches automatically. Illinois's Biometric Information Privacy Act sets written rules for collecting, keeping and destroying biometric identifiers, and other states have their own. Before turning on any face-matching option, read our guide to biometric time clocks and BIPA.
Traceable evidence
Sources for this decision
- vendorBuddy Punch official product siteBuddy Punch · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Hourly employers evaluating employee clock-in, attendance, scheduling, and payroll handoffs.. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorClockify official product siteClockify · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Teams comparing flexible project and employee time tracking across varied work types.. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorQuickBooks Time official product siteQuickBooks Time · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Teams evaluating employee time collection in a QuickBooks accounting and payroll workflow.. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorBuddy Punch pricing page, kiosk features by planBuddy Punch · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Buddy Punch's pricing page as read on October 28, 2026: Starter at $4.99, Pro at $6.99 and Advanced at $12.99 per user a month billed annually ($5.99, $7.99 and $13.99 monthly), each plus a $19 monthly base fee; Pin/Kiosk Punch from a shared device, webcam photos on punches, an offline mode and basic geofencing on Pro and Advanced, not Starter. It does not describe facial matching for punches and does not prove legal compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorBuddy Punch help: how to enable offline modeBuddy Punch · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Buddy Punch's help article as read on October 28, 2026: offline mode applies only to the Buddy Punch mobile app on the Pro and Advanced plans, lets employees who stay signed in punch in and out and take breaks offline with punches synced on reconnection, and does not cover PIN or QR kiosk punches or website punches, which need an internet connection; signing in requires a connection. It does not state prices.Open source ↗
- vendorClockify pricing page, plan comparison tableClockify · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Clockify's pricing comparison table as read on October 28, 2026: the Free plan for up to 5 users (its FAQ says up to 4 invited people) with unlimited projects; kiosk from Basic and not on Free; limited kiosk seats per month at $0.79 on Basic, $1.19 on Standard, $1.59 on Pro and $2.39 on Enterprise billed annually ($0.99, $1.49, $1.99, $2.99 monthly); kiosk photo capture on Pro and Enterprise; billable rates from Basic; invoicing, approval and the QuickBooks integration from Standard; budgets and estimates and GPS from Pro. It does not mention a nonprofit discount and does not describe how the kiosk identifies a worker.Open source ↗
- vendorClockify pricing page, paid plan tiersClockify · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Clockify's pricing page as read on October 27, 2026: per-seat prices for Basic, Standard, Pro and Enterprise billed annually and monthly, timesheet approval, locked timesheets, invoicing and time off from Standard, GPS from Pro and the audit log on Enterprise; it does not prove the total cost for a given team.Open source ↗
- vendorClockify help: track time on kioskClockify · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Clockify help article on the kiosk as read on October 28, 2026: kiosks are available in paid plans and launch from a browser link, clock-in can require a 4- or 6-digit PIN from the Basic plan or a QR code from Standard, photo capture at clock-in and clock-out is available from the Pro plan, is enabled by admins and requires each user's consent before the first capture, and users without email can be limited members who clock in only at the kiosk; it does not state prices or describe offline punching.Open source ↗
- vendorQuickBooks Time Kiosk pageIntuit · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Intuit's QuickBooks Time Kiosk page as read on October 28, 2026: workers sign in with a 4-digit PIN, employers can require a photo at clock-in, the kiosk works on tablets, desktops or laptops with an internet connection and is not designed for phones, and it is part of a QuickBooks Time subscription; it does not mention face recognition or offline punching.Open source ↗
- vendorQuickBooks Time pricing pageQuickBooks Time · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: QuickBooks Time's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its Time Premium plan ($20/month + $10 per user) and the page details recorded with it (Requires QuickBooks Online), and whether a free plan exists. It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗
- officialBiometric Information Privacy ActIllinois General Assembly · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Illinois statutory requirements for collection, disclosure, retention and destruction of biometric identifiers and information; it does not decide applicability or current legal interpretation for a specific workflow.Open source ↗